First Success For The Ladies

Builth and District Running Club’s Ladies cross country team have secured their first success in the Herefordshire xc league since the league started in 1984.

Improving on the 2019/2020 season’s impressive 2nd position, the team led by captain Joanne Rees, won 4 out of the 5 races including Sundays final meeting at Presteigne.

Photo – Donna Morris won all 5 races and picked up both the Overall winner and the MV35 award.

The 2020/2021 season was cancelled due to the pandemic so this was the first year that the new gender equality rules come in to force where the women now run equal distances to the men. This rule change makes Builth’s league victory by 58 points that much more impressive.

Photo – Captain Jo Rees, Emma Matthews, Donna Morris, Jenny Farrow, Kate Jones and Gunvor Troelsen collect their Ladies Herefordshire XC Trophy at the Annual Dinner Awards Evening.

Builth’s team consisted of new Wales International Donna Morris, captain Joanne Rees and flanked by Jenny Farrow, Kate Jones, Emma Matthews and Gunvor Troelsen. Donna Morris also collected the overall female award which adds to her increasingly impressive trophy cabinet.

The league works by the top 4 runners for each team securing points for their club and runners have to run three of the five races for their results to count in the individual standings.

Photo –Robin Woods picked up the MV40 award

In the Men’s competition Builth picked up an impressive 3rd place in the league standings led strongly by Robin Woods and in the Junior standings Callum Morris was 1st place for Builth in his first season of Cross Country.

Builth’s 2021/2022 Cross Country Honour’s List :-

🥇Callum Morris~ 1st U17 male
🥇Donna Morris ~ 1st female overall
🥇Donna Morris ~ 1st FV35
🥈Emma Mathews ~2nd FV35
🥇Jo Rees ~ 1st FV45
🥉Jenny Farrow ~ 3rd FV45
🥇Robin Woods ~1st MV40
🥉Lee Price~ 3rd MV45
🥉Stafford Rees~ 3rd MV50

Photo – Callum Morris 2022 Junior Cross Country Champion

Thanks go to everyone at the Hereford & Borders XC league committee for getting the league off the ground.

A massive thank you to Builth and District’s Liaison Officer and Captain Joanne Rees for her work behind the scenes and the rallying of the troops before each XC event.

The final league team results:-

1 Builth & District RC
2 Croft Ambrey
3 Hereford Couriers

MEN 🏃‍♂️
1 Croft Ambrey
2 Hereford Couriers
3 Builth & District RC